The Chakras | A guide to the energy system in the body

Ancient eastern cultures have detailed descriptions of energy centres in the body called Chakras. The word Chakra comes from the sanskrit word meaning ‘wheel’, describing the round energy centres that run along the centre of the human body. Most commonly known is the seven chakra system, starting at the root chakra at the base of the spine and going up to the crown chakra at the top of the head. However there are as many as 114 in and around the body. Two of these are outside the physical body and of the remaining 112 only 108 can actually be worked upon. The remaining four just flower as a consequence. 

Energy channels, known as Nadi’s in Indian Ayurveda or Meridians in traditional Chinese medicine, flow through the body. There are as many as 72,000 Nadi’s in the body with various small points of collected energy. These smaller collections of energy are the points most commonly used in acupuncture - the smaller more subtle chakras. The larger energy centres, the 7 main chakras, are essentially storage places for vital energy forces that connect the physical body to the auric fields around it. 

Each of the 7 main chakras works at a specific frequency which determines its colour and characteristics. In 1975 professor Dr Valerie Hunt recorded radiation emanating from the body at the specific chakra points. She also recorded sound wave frequencies which corresponded to the same colours for each chakra that the Indian tradition had established. 

Practitioners, including myself, use crystal pendulums to read the chakras. This way we can see which of the 7 main chakras are open, which are blocked and give advise on what to do in order to have all 7 in balance again. 

Chakras become out of balance by us becoming numb to or not processing an emotion and just pushing it down. Like your blood the energy needs to be constantly moving and flowing through you. When it isn't it makes your field dull and muddy looking. And that’s when it can manifest into a physical illness or emotional imbalance, as our bodies grows out of our energy fields. So if the energy field is blocked and dull then the body looks dull and frail too. If it is kept this way the body becomes ill or emotionally.

You can rebalance the chakra once it has become blocked or over active by meditating on that specific chakra, eating foods that are of the same colour, using tuning forks that hold the same frequency, working on healing stuck emotions in a specific chakra, using herbs or essential oils, reiki, reflexology, acupuncture, yoga, or ti chi practices that stimulate the energy of the chakra etc.

The chakras at the base of the spine represent matter and physical aspects whereas the chakras at the top of the body represent spirit. The heart chakras is at the centre and unites both sides. 

The 7 main chakras

1. Root Chakra, Muladhara

The first chakra, at the base of the spine is symbolised by the colour red. It is the closest to the earth so represents everything to do with grounding, instinct, stability, survival and self-sufficiency.

If your root chakra is balanced you feel grounded, independent, stable and centred. 

If your root chakra is blocked you could experience joint pain, lower back pain, anorexia, obesity and a poor immune system.

2. Sacral Chakra, Swadhishthana

Symbolised by the colour orange, this chakra is located just below the belly button. It represents creativity, sexuality, relationships and emotions. 

If this chakra is balanced you feel compassionate, friendly, intuitive and feel a sense of belonging. 

If it's blocked you could experience bladder problems,  sexual difficulties and lack of flexibility, both mentally and physically.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra, Manipura

This is symbolised with the colour yellow. It's located just above the naval and represents personal power, self esteem, wilfulness and our own energy. It effects how we view ourselves and see the world around and is heavily related to the metabolic and digestive systems.

If your solar plexus chakras is balanced you feel confident, decisive, productive, energetic and you have good digestion.

If it is blocked you can experience diabetes, nervousness, low energy, muscle fatigue and digestive issues. 

4. Heart Chakra, Anahata

The green chakras is found within the heart and the centre point of all the 7 chakras. It's a source of love and connection.

When the chakra is balanced you can forgive easily, the lungs are open and the immune system is healthy. To keep this chakra balanced you should allow all of your suppressed emotions to release. 

If it is blocked you can feel loneliness, despair and experience high blood pressure, breathing difficulties, circulation problems, chest pains, heart problems and tension in the shoulders.

5. Throat Chakra, Vishuddha

This chakra in the throat is blue and is all about choice, communication and the right to speak and be heard. 

When the throat chakras is balanced you feel expressive, you can communicate constructively, you listen to others and feel centred. 

If it is blocked you can experience communication difficulties, thyroid problems, fever, and throat disorders.

6. Third Eye Chakra, Ajna

Indigo in colour it's found in the centre of the forehead where the third eye is. Its related to divine wisdom, intuition, and our ability to see beyond vision. It's how we put our thoughts out into the universe and communicate with higher energies.

If it's balanced you are able to think reality into existence, have great imagination, intuition, and can focus for a long time.

When the chakra is blocked you can become delusional, unimaginative and experience, headaches, eye problems and issues with the pituitary and pineal glands.

7. Crown Chakra, Sahastrara 

It's located just above the top of the head and is our direct connection to the universe. Guidance and energy from the universe comes through the crown chakra into the body.

If your crown chakra is balanced you feel at one with the universe, connected, open minded, intelligent, thoughtful and you are able to understand and learn new information easily. 

If it's blocked it can cause confusion, depression, fear of success and lack of inspiration as well as migraines, brain tumours, amnesia and nervous or muscular system disorders. 



- Em x

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published